Home Music Articles Forums Blog Chat More...      

add to bookmarks
Prev Topic | Next Topic

Author
Posts
(Read 1243 times)
pabo
Forum Newbie


Registered: 08/20/04
Posts: 10
Location: N/A
 
External Sync Starts Logic at Beat 2...
Wednesday, November 26 2008 @ 12:45 AM CST

I have Logic E8 slaved to a Roland VS-880EX.
When I hit play on the Roland, Logic starts playing at beat 2 of the first measure.
This cuts off the first drum beat of the song.

How do I get Logic to start at the very beginning of the song?

I'm guessing I have to change something in the Project Settings - Synchronization - General "Bar Position plays at SMPTE". I tried adjusting it but to no avail.

rover101
Forum Full Member


Registered: 12/05/05
Posts: 1622
Location: Yup, Nope Yup
 
Re:External Sync Starts Logic at Beat 2
Wednesday, November 26 2008 @ 03:22 AM CST

Try adjusting the pre-roll, maybe, but the easy way would be to shift the start of the song a bar or two...the problem lies in the fact that it takes a certain amount of time for the sync to 'engage', perhaps?

Noli bastardi carborundum
pabo
Forum Newbie


Registered: 08/20/04
Posts: 10
Location: N/A
 
Re:External Sync Starts Logic at Beat 2
Wednesday, November 26 2008 @ 06:54 PM CST

How exactly is the pre-roll adjusted?

That's what I need to figure out I guess.
I suppose I'll shift the start like you wrote and hopefully that'll work.

I thought it might be a latency problem too where the sync doesn't engage in a timely manner but it seems to consistently start on beat 2.

Thanks for the reply.
You got some cool songs there!
 
pabo
Forum Newbie


Registered: 08/20/04
Posts: 10
Location: N/A
 
Re:External Sync Starts Logic at Beat 2
Wednesday, November 26 2008 @ 07:13 PM CST

Just move the entire song up one beat.
And it still started on the second beat of the song!

I guess Logic and figure out where the sound actually starts!

Please help!