Home Music Articles Forums Blog Chat More...      

add to bookmarks
Prev Topic | Next Topic

Author
SunkJunk
Forum Newbie

Microphones with logic
Wednesday, August 30 2006 @ 02:30 AM CDT

Hello all...

I'm a newbie so massive apologies if this has been covered countless times before but this issue is driving me to insanity...!

I've written a few tunes in Logic Express and wanted to add vocals, but am having problems getting the software to use my external mic. The mic is registering in the main system preferences but when it comes to logic, nothing. I tried running the set up assistant again and it notices the mic - I add it as the main input but when the assistant finishes running it says it's unable to use the mic and reverts to using the built in audio (ie no mic).

I'm using a G4 PowerMac. It has two USB ports - I use the first for the keyboard and the second for the mic.

Can anyone help?

Re:Microphones with logic
Wednesday, August 30 2006 @ 04:47 AM CDT

I will assume you are using something along the lines of the Samson C01U as your mic. Have you tried the following within Logic: Logic Express/ Preferences/ Audio/ Drivers? It should give you the option of Built in audio or your device (being your USB mic).
SunkJunk
Forum Newbie

Wednesday, August 30 2006 @ 05:35 AM CDT

Hey - thanks for the reply.

It's a logitech desktop mic, just a cheap little thing. I tried changing the drivers but to no avail - could it be anything else?
dchapman
Forum Full Member

Wednesday, August 30 2006 @ 11:19 AM CDT

Now this may seem pretty basic, but you won't hear or see the levels for your mic until the channel is armed to record. Also make sure that for input for that channel you have Input 1 selected if that's where the mic is routed.

d.

Check out my Latest Instrumental: Waiting for the Other
SunkJunk
Forum Newbie

Wednesday, August 30 2006 @ 11:31 AM CDT

By 'armed' do you mean - did I click 'record' in an audio track?