Home Music Articles Forums Blog Chat More...      

add to bookmarks
Prev Topic | Next Topic

Author
Catalina22
Forum Full Member

Muchas Problemas
Wednesday, January 12 2011 @ 10:46 AM CST

Hi All~

I really need to solicit the expert advice of the MacJams community. I have been working doggedly at recording vocals, and it's been very frustrating.

The main problem is this: I sound flat, no matter what I do!!!! Be honest . . . is this because I just basically sing flat? I know that this could be the problem and I'm working and working on fine-tuning my pitch problems singing. I am practicing and practicing and practicing. I just don't get it, though. I studied vocal performance in college and never had a problem singing flat.

Do microphones distort sound in this manner at all sometimes? I have been experimenting and playing around lots with the mic, in terms of levels and distances, etc. No matter what I do, it sounds "pitchy". I always record with the monitor on. Do you think I should try any recording with the monitor OFF? Is that what's throwing me off?

Have others experienced frustration in recording vocals in this manner? I could swear, I don't usually sing flat. But everything sounds very "pitchy", like I said. I may try recording with the monitor off, because I think the tiniest of nuances the monitor picks up really freaks me out while I'm recording.

What tips does the MJ community have for recording vocals? Any little pearls of wisdom that have helped you in terms of recording vocals?

Thanks a million! Smile

Cortney

In the end, everything's okay. If it's not okay, it's not the end. ~Anonymous
particledots
Forum Full Member

Re:Muchas Problemas
Wednesday, January 12 2011 @ 10:52 AM CST

i sing flat (and sharp) all the time...

practice and warm up might help. you are also right about the possibility of your monitoring playing a part, but i think its more likely to be technique

if you have a vocal you want me to 'unflatten' for you...drop me a line